What To Bring To Process the Most Common DMV Transactions

>What to Bring
What to Bring 2019-06-25T21:13:10+00:00

Welcome to the No-Line Zone

Totally Notary Vehicle Registration Service

DMV Transactions Without The Wait

  • California Certificate of Title (Pink Slip) properly signed or endorsed on Line 1 by the registered owner(s) shown on the title.  New owner will need to complete the new owner information on the back of the title, and sign it.
  • A Statement of Facts (REG 256) for use tax and smog exemption, if applicable
  • Odometer disclosure for vehicles less than 10 years old.
  • Transfer Fee
  • DMV form REG 156 (Application for Replacement Plates, Stickers, Documents)
  • Surrender any remaining license plates
  • Your ID
  • Registration card
  • Complete DMV form REG 227 (Application for Duplicate or Paperless Title)
  • Your ID
  • Registration card
  • We’ll submit your request at our office and the new title will be mailed to the current address on file at the DMV.
  • Complete DMV form REG 156 (Application for Replacement Plates, Stickers, Documents)
  • Your ID
  • Registration card
  • Complete DMV form REG 156 (Application for Replacement Plates, Stickers, Documents)
  • Your ID
  • Complete DMV Form REG 17 (Special Interest License Plate Application)
  • Your ID
  • Registration card
  • We can assist with your online order and once your new plates are manufactured, you’ll receive a notice that they’re available for pickup at your local DMV office.

If your registration was suspended due to an insurance lapse, bring proof of insurance to our office and we’ll submit it for you.  Please allow 3 hours for verification and reinstatement of registration.  If your registration was suspended due to fines, we can accept and submit your fees in our office.

If the out of state vehicle was previously registered in the CA, the registration must be performed at the DMV and cannot be processed through an online registration service.

An out of state vehicle can be registered in CA, regardless of title status.  If the title is available and a CA title is desired, the out of state title must be surrendered to the DMV for a CA title.  If the title is not available, or the vehicle has a lienholder or is leased, the vehicle can still be registered, but a title will not be issued.  If the vehicle is free and clear, but the title isn’t available, a duplicate title would need to be requested from the prior state, then submitted to the DMV for a CA title.

If the ownership or lien-holder has changed since the last vehicle registration, the DMV must process your registration

If the ownership or lien-holder has not changed:

  • Complete DMV form REG 343 (An Application for Title or Registration)
  • Your ID
  • The out-of-state title, or if financed / leased, the lienholder name and address
  • Smog Certification
  • VIN Verification (can be performed on-site)

Totally Notary Vehicle Registration Service is licensed, bonded and contracted with the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) through their Business Partner Automation Program to provide vehicle titling services.  We hold DMV Occupational License #95437 and can perform instant DMV registration and title transactions.

Note: A service charge will apply in addition to the DMV fees.